LibGuides: COM 321: Module 2

Module 2 Research

Read the following articles:

Coffee, P. (2015). Priceline.com. Adweek, 56(31), 7.

Gander P. (2015). Linking food and drink packs to social media. Food Manufacture, 47.

Saeuberlich, C. (2015). Retailers should adjust strategy in light of new technology. Chain Drug Review, 37(13), 34-37.

The books listed below are resources that could be used to help you complete the 1-2 academic reference requirements for your Critical Thinking assignment. Keep in mind that you could just select a chapter from one of the the books below and it could count as one source.
The databases listed below will lead you to journal articles about your topic. These articles have a tendency to be very focused on one aspect of research. Get more information, if needed, about reading scholarly articles.

Event Planning Books

Event Planning Business by Entrepreneur Media Inc. Staff
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781613083130
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
This book includes information on best practices, important resources, possible pitfalls, marketing musts, and more for event planning.
Key Concepts in Event Management by Bernadette Quinn
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781849205597
Publication Date: 2013-04-05
In recent years we have seen an enormous growth of festivals and event activity and the literature within the field is consequently huge. In order to make sense of this rapid and dynamic development, students are dependent on a book that can lead them through the myriad of theoretical frameworks offered.
Wedding Consultant Business by Entrepreneur magazine (Compiled by)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781613082287
Publication Date: 2012-07-15
From wedding bells to wedding bills, gain an inside look at the billion dollar wedding industry and learn how to earn your next pay check coordinating the big day of today's brides and grooms. Learn tips from the pros for handling the unexpected, how to avoid common mistakes, how to negotiate with vendors and suppliers to get the best prices.
Project Management by Jae K. Shim
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781906403577
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
This book is designed to impart a deep understanding of the applications and importance of Project Management. The reader will learn how to assess a project with respect to time, costs, risk, and resources in order to effectively and efficiently reach goals. Intended for students as well as for working professionals and volunteers, the book provides the essential skills needed to make effective contributions and to have immediate impact on the accomplishment of projects.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles go through a very specific type of process in order to be published. Use one of the following databases to locate a peer-reviewed article:

Hint: the recommended databases all index a combination of professional/trade and peer-reviewed articles. In EBSCO databases, select Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals from the left-hand side of the screen. In ProQuest databases, choose the Peer-Reviewed radio button.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, industry news, product and competitive information, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Also includes local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

Use the following terms (or combinations of these terms) as part of your search strategy:

Wedding planners
Wedding supplies & services industry
Party planners
Music festivals