Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University, globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
Provides basic information about most countries, including geography, the people, government, economic conditions, transportation and communication data, and the military.
Comprised of four databases: (1) Country Reviews: provides 50-100 page reports on 191 countries covering historic, political, economic, and contemporary issues; (2) Country Wire: provides country-specific daily news on each country; (3) Country Data: allows cross-sectional data searching by country, time period, and data series (includes maps); and (4) Country Business: includes information and regulations on investment and trade from the U.S. Department of State.
Vendor: CountryWatch, Inc.
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Some pages have more or less information; always a link to the U.S. Bilateral Relations Factsheet, which gives a brief, historical overview of U.S. economic and political relations with the nation.
LANIC’s plentiful information portal allows for keyword searching or browsing by Latin American country or region. Maintained by the University of Texas at Austin.
Select Country Report by "Publication Type" on the home search screen.
Suggestions for searching:
--Type your selected country in the search box and select "Country Report" by Publication Type
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
NationMaster is "a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD."
Cost of living information for nearly 5,000 cities around the world. Note: This site appears to have a wiki component (individuals can edit data for the cities).
Business-Related Information for Specific Countries
Comprised of four databases: (1) Country Reviews: provides 50-100 page reports on 191 countries covering historic, political, economic, and contemporary issues; (2) Country Wire: provides country-specific daily news on each country; (3) Country Data: allows cross-sectional data searching by country, time period, and data series (includes maps); and (4) Country Business: includes information and regulations on investment and trade from the U.S. Department of State.
Vendor: CountryWatch, Inc.
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
As well as general background information on countries, coverage includes specifics regarding: Selling U.S. Products and Services, Leading Sectors for U.S. Export and Investment, Trade Regulations, Customs and Standards, Trade and Project Financing and more!
This report series is a valuable introduction to many aspects of doing business in over a hundred countries. It includes general information on countries in individual volumes, as well as such topics as foreign investment incentives, restrictions on foreign investments and investors, the regulatory environment, banking and finance, labor relations and social security, accounting principles, the tax system, taxation of corporations and individuals, and more.
Compare business locations in Asia-Pacific, Europe, and North America for more than 100 cities from 10 major countries based on this 2014 study by KPMG. Measures the combined impact of 26 key business cost components and their variation by location. The study also compares data on a variety of non-cost competitiveness factors.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790).
Vendor: LexisNexis
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Select full-text for regional, national and international newspapers in addition to television and radio transcripts; 1985-current.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
McFarlin and Sweeney provide students with an accessible, application-oriented approach to international management, focusing on key challenges including motivation, leadership, and communication across cultural boundaries. The book gives students a global perspective on the process of hiring, training, and developing employees, as well as strategic decision making in relation to foreign markets. Questions, case studies, examples of creative problem solving, and testimonials from real-world managers operating in the international arena are just a few of the tactics McFarlin and Sweeney use to help students begin to think about applied theory on a global level. All chapters have been updated with recent articles from leading business sources and academic journals, and new case studies have been incorporated.
International Management by