LibGuides: International Management: Industry/Market Research

Steps for Industry Research

Identify the Industry

Find the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) or NAIC (North American Industrial Classification) codes used to classify business activities.

Websters Online Business Directory
Businesses are listed with their complete company profile, which includes address, toll-free numbers, fax number, SIC Codes, NAICS Codes, products, and brand names.
NAICS
Provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.

Find Industry Overviews and Reports

Look for profiles of the industry, trends, explanations of how the industry operates, key ratios and statistics . The database and website below allow for industry report exploration.

Valuation Resources.com
Guide to business valuation resources, industry information, economic data, and more.

Locate Current News and Trade/Industry Associations

Find current news and in-depth articles about the company from business magazines and trade publications to gather insight into the company's operations and strategies. Look for professional associations that will help promote your industry. Professional/trade publications that publish industry news may help you identify these associations. The following library databases are good sources of information in addition to Bloomberg, CNNMoney, Yahoo! Finance, and Google Business News.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, industry news, product and competitive information, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Also includes local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790).
Vendor: LexisNexis
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

Locate Leading Companies, Market Share Data, and Other Industry-Related Statistics

Learn who the industry leaders are and see what their Market Research Reports say. The following database will help:

Other Helpful Resources

Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781414486895
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.
International Marketing Data and Statistics 2013 by Euromonitor International Staff
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781842645888
Publication Date: 2012-11-19
One of Euromonitor's best-selling reference books, this has hard-to-find demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 160 non-European countries. Research includes home ownership, health and population statistics.

TrendWatching.com
In-depth information is by subscription, but they offer free publications monthly covering consumer trends Globally, in Africa, in Asia and in Latin America.