LibGuides: Find & Use Images-Student Guide: Images in Library Databases

Example

Source: Great Neck Publishing. (n.d.). Animal Cell. From Science Reference Center.

Using Images from Library Databases

Some library subscription resources, mainly EBSCO databases, contain images for use in educational projects.

From the main search page in an EBSCO database, scroll down to the lower right hand corner to choose image types.

Be sure to check the following databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
MAS Ultra-School Edition This link opens in a new window
Popular high school magazines, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of more than 200,000 photos, maps, and flags; some full-text from 1984-current.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches full-text for middle school magazines as well as biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, reference books and images. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1917-Current
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, biographies and videos from 1945-current.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

Use source information found within the databases to cite images.