LibGuides: Marketing: Demographics/Consumers

Books

Chapters from ebooks are similar to journal articles in that they have gone through a review process and are very focused research. Search the ebooks link below or review the selections here:

Consumer Psychology by Cathrine V. Jansson-Boyd
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780335229284
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This book focuses on the psychology of consumers and additionally
draws upon marketing-related research that can aid the understanding of
how consumers think and behave.
Research in Consumer Behavior by Russell Belk (Editor, Contribution by); Linda Scott (Editor); Søren Askegaard (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781781900222
Publication Date: 2012-12-05
Includes chapters grouped by gifts, identify, globalism, online worlds, and sustainable living.
New Perspectives on Consumer Culture Theory and Research by Pavel Zahràdka; Renàta Sedlàkovà
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781443841573
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Includes a number of chapters on consumer culture.

Consumer Behavior Journal Databases

Scholarly Journals, Book Chapters and Trade Publications in the following databases are highly-specialized sources for your research. Journal articles are written by experts, are typically around 5-20 pages in length and usually focus on conducting or discussing original research in a specific field.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, industry news, product and competitive information, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Also includes local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the field of psychology; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

InterLibrary Loan

If you can't find an article available full-text, fill out our Article Request Form and we will try to borrow the article from another library at no charge to you.

Web Resources for Demographic Research

CountryWatch (Premium Package) This link opens in a new window
Comprised of four databases: (1) Country Reviews: provides 50-100 page reports on 191 countries covering historic, political, economic, and contemporary issues; (2) Country Wire: provides country-specific daily news on each country; (3) Country Data: allows cross-sectional data searching by country, time period, and data series (includes maps); and (4) Country Business: includes information and regulations on investment and trade from the U.S. Department of State.
Vendor: CountryWatch, Inc.
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
American FactFinder
Census fact sheets for any city or zip code. Also the American Community Survey offers social characteristics data on cities over 20,000.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides international, national, regional and industry analyses.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The single best handbook for data on American production, prices, population, resources, trade, technology, income, spending and saving.
Social Science Research Network
Abstracts and full papers both submitted by the authors and harvested from partner publishers' databases. Topics include Accounting, Economics, Information Systems, Legal Scholarship, Management, Marketing, Negotiation, and Social Insurance. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Some articles are pay-for-access.
Social Explorer
Mapping of demographic data.