Skip to Main Content

Writing Center Edited Book Chapters and Reference Work Entries: Edited Book Chapters and Reference Work Entries

Edited Book Chapters and Reference Work Entries

This category includes guidance on how to cite a specific chapter with an individual author in an edited book and a specific entry in a reference work, like a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia.

The reference structure for edited book chapters and reference work entries is as follows:

Chapter Author Date Title Source
Edited Book Information DOI or URL
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B.

 

Name of Group.

 

 (2020). Title of chapter. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (pp. 3–13). Publisher Name.

 

In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (3rd ed., Vol. 4, pp. 233–253). Publisher Name		 https://doi.org/xxxx

 

https://xxxxxx

 

SOURCE TYPE REFERENCE EXAMPLE
Chapter in an edited book with a DOI

Belliveau, G. (2018). Releasing trauma. In P. Tortell, M. Turin, & M. Young (Eds.), Memory (pp. 129–138). Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctvbtzpfm.18
Chapter in an edited book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version

Lundgren, B., & Holmberg, M. (2017). Pandemic flus and vaccination policies in Sweden. In C. Holmberg, S. Blume, & P. Greenough (Eds.), The politics of vaccination: A global history (pp. 260–287). Manchester University Press.
Chapter in an edited ebook (e.g., Kindle book) or audiobook without a DOI, with nondatabase URL

Enos, T., Jones, J., Pearce, L., & Vorndran, K. R. (2012). Consumerism and the coopting of national trauma. In S. Borrowman (Ed.), Trauma and the teaching of writing (2nd ed., pp. 99–112). State University of New York Press. https://google.com/books/edition/Trauma_and_the_Teaching_of_ Writing/ZEoW1abqCn0C?hl=en&gbpv=0
Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia, with group author*

*When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use “n.d.” as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d). Kairos. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved April 28, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/kairos
Wikipedia entry

Marvel Cinematic Universe. (2020, May 10). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marvel_Cinematic_Universe

Haymarket affair. (2020, May 5). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haymarket_affair