The books listed below are resources that could be used to help you complete the 2-3 scholarly source requirements for your Critical Thinking assignment. Keep in mind that you could just select a chapter from one of the books below and it could count as one source.
The databases listed below (with the exception of EBSCO and SAGE ebooks) will lead you to journal articles about your topic. These articles have a tendency to be very focused on one aspect of research. Get more information, if needed, about reading scholarly articles.
If you choose Option 2, think about adding search terms in article databases such as "economics" or "income distribution" or "economic theory".
Stedman Jones argues that contemporary social democracy should take up the mantle of earlier American thinkers, and suggests that the elimination of poverty need not be a utopian dream but may once again be profitably made the subject of practical, political, and social-policy debates.
Search for a specific topic AND poverty. Theoretical issues will most likely not be represented here.
Vendor: SAGE
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Search this ebook collection with a one (or more) of the search terms identified in the "Librarian Search Tags" area.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher. Printing restrictions vary.
Concurrent Users: DRM varies; check individual titles
Offers (some full-text) coverage of journals and trade publications from 1972-current. Includes information on the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences including (but not limited to) ethics, public welfare, urban studies.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the field of psychology; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in APA citation style.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by 
An End to Poverty? by 
Try mixing and matching Librarian Search Tags: