LibGuides: MKG 350: Module 1

Choose a Company

Potential Companies

Automobile Manufacturers	Nissan Volkswagen GMC Toyota	Chrysler Ford Honda Oldsmobile
Department Stores	JC Penney Target Walmart Macy's	Blomingdale's Sears REI Kohl's
Fast Food Restaurants	McDonald's Burger King Sonic Chipotle	Wendy's Taco Bell Mod Market Dunkin' Donuts
Banks	USAA Compass Bank Wells Fargo Key Bank	Chase 1st Bank Bank of the West First National
Airlines	American Southwest United Frontier	Icelandair Lufthansa AeroMexico British Airways
Technology	Microsoft Apple Google Aurba Networks	Equinix Hewlett-Packard IBM Oracle
Travel Sites	Expedia Orbitz Priceline Gadventures	KAYAK Hotwire Travelocity Hipmunk

Research Your Company

Not all companies will have information listed in library databases, but those that do may make your research more seamless.

If you can find a company SWOT Analysis, see if it includes the company's perception re: their marketing campaigns
If you can find a detailed company history, see if their marketing campaigns have been successful in the past.
Details of company comparisons, industry news, etc may provide more insight as well.

Company Histories

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Stocks database; includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ, and the American Stock Exchange; research reports on companies; data. Please click the END SESSION button when you are finished. Access is limited to one user at a time.
Vendor: Morningstar
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: One

Lexis Nexis and ProQuest for Company Information

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790).
Vendor: LexisNexis
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

From the main search page, be sure to choose Company Information. Use the drop-down menu to look for company profiles; analyst reports, mergers and acquisitions; or SEC filings.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, industry news, product and competitive information, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Also includes local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

MKG 350: Module 1

Choose a Company

Category

Potential Companies

Research Your Company

Company Histories

Lexis Nexis and ProQuest for Company Information