LibGuides: Public Policy & Administration: Newspapers, Polls & More

NGOs & IGOs

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) are generally not-for-profit groups and not affiliated with any government entities.

World-Wide NGO Directory
Search this directory for NGOs or investigate the links below:
Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people who campaign for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all.
Environmental Defense Fund
The Environmental Defense Fund’s mission is to preserve the natural systems on which all life depends.
Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Discrimination (GLAAD)
GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBT equality. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an independent, international organization that works to uphold human dignity and advance the cause of human rights for all.
Oxfam
This organization works to empower people to create a future that is secure, just, and free from poverty.
Refugees International
Refugees International advocates for lifesaving assistance and protection for displaced people and promotes solutions to displacement crises.

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) generally consist of representatives from soveiergn states pursuing common goals established by a formal agreement. See some sample IGOs below:

Organization of American States
The Organization was established in order to achieve among its member states—an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.
United Nations (UN)
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
Asia Pacific Economic Coorperative (APEC)
The APEC is the premier Asia-Pacific economic forum whose primary goal is to support sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region.

Newspapers & Polls

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790).
Vendor: LexisNexis
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Select full-text for regional, national and international newspapers in addition to television and radio transcripts; 1985-current.
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: Varies
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited. Fair use under U.S. Copyright law unless otherwise noted by publisher.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Accesses full-text of the WSJ from 1984 to present.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984-Current
Access: Subscription via proxy
Terms of Use: Licensed for purposes of research, teaching and private study. Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited portions. Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Concurrent Users: Unlimited

Gallup
Gallup's public web site contains recent polling data.
Pew Research Center for People & the Press
An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.
World Opinion Poll
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues.

Think Tanks

"Think tank" is a phrase used to describe organizations which conduct public policy research and analysis. they often publish papers based on their research and make them available freely on the web. Note: some think tanks are nonpartisan, but others advocate particular political positions. Be sure to take this into consideration when evaluating their material.

Numerous Think Tanks and Institutes
Look at this list of think tanks and institutes supplied from the University of VA or check out individual entities below:
American Foreign Policy Council
Brookings Institution
Cato Institute
Center for International Policy
Electronic Privacy Information Center
Hoover Institution
Rand

Statistics

American FactFinder
Contains data from the 2000 US Decennial Census of Population and Housing, and more recent Annual Economic Surveys and Community Surveys.
FedStats
A gateway to the statistics from many federal agencies.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The single best handbook for data on American production, prices, population, resources, trade, technology, income, spending and saving.
Opendata.gov
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.